Yes Release First New Song Without Chris Squire ‘The Ice Bridge’

Yes Release First New Song Without Chris Squire ‘The Ice Bridge’ | Society Of Rock Videos

via SonicAxiom / Youtube

Check It Out

Yes just dropped their first new song in seven years. Titled “The Ice Bridge”, it’s also their first track without Chris Squire who passed away in 2015 after a battle with leukemia. It previews their upcoming album, The Quest, which is available for preorder today.

“The Ice Bridge’ opens the album in the dark and moody key of C minor, aided by the orchestra,” guitarist Steve Howe said in a statement. “The rolling bass part kicks things into gear as the vocals and guitars start a winding journey through the various structures till the breakdown happens, where ice breaking is heard.”

Yes singer Jon Davison cowrote it with keyboardist Geoff Downes.

“Usually what happens is each member is left to write their respective parts and put their stamp on things,” Davison said. “Geoff sent me a selection of exciting and often gorgeous snippets he had created, and made it clear that he wished I experiment freely and develop as needed.”

“This in turn gave me the confidence to take on the vocal role – lyrics, vocal melody and harmony, how the vocals are presented and uniquely phrased,” he continued, “but all the while striving to stay faithful to Geoff’s initial ideas.”

Don’t Miss Out! Sign up for the Latest Updates

Premium Partners

Society of Rock partner World War Wings
Society of Rock partner Daily Rock Box
Society of Rock partner Country Music Nation
Society of Rock partner Country Rebel
Society of Rock partner I Love Classic Rock
Society of Rock partner Rock Pasta

Interested in becoming a partner?

Contact us for more info.