Santana – “Europa” Live

Santana – “Europa” Live | Society Of Rock Videos

Santana’s Impressive Guitar Solos Created A Classic and Timeless Piece!

“Europa (Earth’s Cry Heaven’s Smile)” is an instrumental written by Carlos Santana and Tom Coster. It immediately gained massive success upon its release on March 26, 1976.

The 16 bar harmonic composition (chord progression) is that of the jazz standard “Autumn Leaves” (originally Les Feuilles Mortes”), with the first verse ending in the minor, and the last verse ending in the major.

It was born while Santana was touring in Manchester with Earth, Wind & Fire when he was playing the tune backstage. Tom Coster then helped him write the chords.

Upon seeing his friend was suffering a bad experience whilst high on mescaline, Santana composed a piece titled “The Mushroom Lady’s Coming to Town”. This precursor contained the first lick to “Europa”. It was put away and not touched for some time.

Don’t Miss Out! Sign up for the Latest Updates

Premium Partners

Society of Rock partner World War Wings
Society of Rock partner Daily Rock Box
Society of Rock partner Country Music Nation
Society of Rock partner Country Rebel
Society of Rock partner I Love Classic Rock
Society of Rock partner Rock Pasta

Interested in becoming a partner?

Contact us for more info.