Jethro Tull Announces Details On New Album ‘The Zealot Gene’

Jethro Tull Announces Details On New Album ‘The Zealot Gene’ | Society Of Rock Videos

Their First Studio Album In 18 Years

Jethro Tull previewed the upcoming album with its first single, “Shoshana Sleeping.” Listen to it below. The LP is slated for release on January 28 via InsideOut. The current lineup features founder Ian Anderson, guitarist Joe Parrish-James, drummer Scott Hammond, pianist John O’Hara, and bassist David Goodier.

They started working on the record in 2017 and was supposed to be released in 2020 with a planned tour in support of it. However, their plans have been moved.

“While I have a spot of genuine fondness for the pomp and fairytale story-telling of the Holy Book, I still feel the need to question and draw sometimes unholy parallels from the text,” Anderson said. “The good, the bad, and the downright ugly rear their heads throughout, but are punctuated with elements of love, respect, and tenderness.”

The Zealot Gene will be available in a variety of formats including a limited edition deluxe 3LP+2CD+Blu-ray set.

Jethro Tull’s The Zealot Gene Tracklist

“Mrs. Tibbets”
“Jacob’s Tales”
“Mine Is the Mountain”
“The Zealot Gene”
“Shoshana Sleeping”
“Sad City Sisters”
“Barren Beth, Wild Desert John”
“The Betrayal of Joshua Kynde”
“Where Did Saturday Go?”
“Three Loves, Three”
“In Brief Visitation”
“The Fisherman of Ephesus”

Don’t Miss Out! Sign up for the Latest Updates

Premium Partners

Society of Rock partner World War Wings
Society of Rock partner Daily Rock Box
Society of Rock partner Country Music Nation
Society of Rock partner Country Rebel
Society of Rock partner I Love Classic Rock
Society of Rock partner Rock Pasta

Interested in becoming a partner?

Contact us for more info.