2024 Rock and Roll Hall of Fame Welcomes Cher, Ozzy Osbourne, Dave Matthews Band and More

2024 Rock and Roll Hall of Fame Welcomes Cher, Ozzy Osbourne, Dave Matthews Band and More | Society Of Rock Videos

via WKYC Channel 3 / YouTube

This year’s Rock & Roll Hall of Fame has made its pick of legends. The list includes Mary J. Blige, Cher, Dave Matthews Band, Foreigner, Peter Frampton, Kool & The Gang, Ozzy Osbourne, and A Tribe Called Quest. These artists will enter the Hall of Fame under the Performer category.

Special Awards and Ceremony Highlights

Other notable honorees to be celebrated are Jimmy Buffett, MC5, Dionne Warwick, and Norman Whitfield, receiving the Musical Excellence Award. Alexis Korner, John Mayall, and Big Mama Thornton will be honored with the Musical Influence Award, and Suzanne de Passe will obtain the Ahmet Ertegun Award.

The exciting ceremony will take place at the Rocket Mortgage Fieldhouse in Cleveland, Ohio, on October 19. Fans won’t miss a moment as the event will be streamed live on Disney+. A later version will show on ABC and be available on Hulu the following day.

John Sykes, Chairman of the Rock & Roll Hall of Fame Foundation, highlights the impact of this diverse group of inductees. He said, “Rock & Roll is an ever-evolving mix of sounds that impacts culture and moves generations. This diverse group of inductees each broke down musical barriers and influenced countless artists that followed in their footsteps.”

It’s been quite a journey for Cher, a superstar who, surprisingly, had never been on the Hall of Fame ballot before this year, neither as a solo artist nor as Sonny and Cher. Before the announcement, she expressed her dissatisfaction to Kelly Clarkson saying, “I wouldn’t be in it now if they gave me a million dollars.” She strongly stated her position, “I’m never going to change my mind. They can just go you-know-what themselves.”


View this post on Instagram


A post shared by MuchMusic (@muchofficial)

Inductee Milestones and Reflections

Meanwhile, Ozzy Osbourne is set for a rare achievement. Having been inducted in 2006 as a member of Black Sabbath, he could be honored again for his solo work. Reflecting on this possibility earlier in the year, Osbourne said, “To be one of the few musicians who’s being considered for a second entry, now as a solo artist, is something I could never have imagined.” He added, “After 44 years as a solo artist the fact that I can continue to record music and receive this recognition is something I am incredibly proud of.”

For Peter Frampton, it’s a first-time ballot appearance after being eligible since the early Nineties. Having performed with Sheryl Crow at last year’s ceremony, he feels a debt of gratitude towards her advocacy. Frampton said, “I’ll continue to thank her for stirring the pot.” He elaborated on their mutual respect, “She was saying, ‘Look, this guy isn’t in, what do you think about that?’ That was her goal, I think. Also, I’ve always wanted to play with her and her band.”

Foreigner’s induction presents a unique chance for the original members to come together once more. The band that fans see touring nowadays differs from the one being honored, as they all joined after the 2000s. Mick Jones, a founding guitarist, although not actively playing due to health concerns, remains a recognized member. Lou Gramm, the original singer, shared earlier this year, “I was not feeling good that our peers were in years ago and we were completely neglected.” He revealed, “I personally had given up that we would ever be considered. I didn’t even think about it anymore, to be honest with you.”

Reunions and Reflections

The ceremony also offers an opening for the Dave Matthews Band to perform with former violinist Boyd Tinsley, who parted ways with the band in 2018 amid serious accusations. Dave Matthews shared his thoughts in 2019, “Boyd’s not with us in the band anymore, playing, but it doesn’t mean he wasn’t there when we made our first record.” Matthews hoped for a positive reunion, saying, “There might be an awkward moment, but I hope that we’re all old enough to let it go.”

Lastly, A Tribe Called Quest, having been on the ballot before, will finally be inducted. When they missed out last year, Consequence, a collaborator with the group, did not hide his disappointment. “This is the family tree for me,” he commented. “This the tree that brought you G.O.O.D Music. This the tree that allowed Common Sense to be Common. This is the right-hand man to De La Soul. Stop me when I’m lying. What we not gonna do is keep subjugating that name, A Tribe Called Quest, to a white popularity contest.”

Don’t Miss Out! Sign up for the Latest Updates

Premium Partners

Society of Rock partner World War Wings
Society of Rock partner Daily Rock Box
Society of Rock partner Country Music Nation
Society of Rock partner Country Rebel
Society of Rock partner I Love Classic Rock
Society of Rock partner Rock Pasta

Interested in becoming a partner?

Contact us for more info.