The Songs To Represent The Album “Homegrown” By Neil Young

The Songs To Represent The Album “Homegrown” By Neil Young | Society Of Rock Videos

via neilyoungchannel/YouTube

A Highly Anticipated Release

It’s been a long time coming for fans but it’s well worth the wait, for sure. 45 years after it was finished, Neil Young’s legendary “Homegrown” album will finally see the light of day. It was slated for release in 1975 but was shelved at the last minute as he felt it was way too personal for him and he didn’t feel comfortable sharing it.

He said in a 1975 interview with Rolling Stone‘s Cameron Crowe, “It was a little too personal. It scared me. … I’ve never released any of those. And I probably never will. I think I’d be too embarrassed to put them out. They’re a little too real.”

Some of the tracks found home in other albums and there were those he also performed live on stage. But it has never been released in its entirety. And decades later, Young is ready to unveil his masterpiece to the world. Here’s a preview of the tracklist.

1. “Separate Ways” – It sets the tone of the album and it’s about two people on the verge of breakup. Young introduced the song to the world during his 1993 tour with Booker T. and the M.G.’s.

2. “Try” – It shows a bit of optimism that there may be hope for their relationship yet. Emmylou Harris provides background vocals. Young first played in during his Chrome Dreams II tour in 2007.

3. “Mexico” – The shortest song on “Homegrown,” clocking in at less than two minutes. It’s full of pain and anguish as the narrator seeks to escape from his pain by going on a trip to Mexico.

4. “Love is a Rose” – Young first introduced it to the public in 1974 at Tempe Stadium in Tempe, Arizona. He’s played it dozens of times since.

5. “Homegrown” – Unlike the previous tracks, this isn’t anything about love but rather, a tribute to marijuana.

6. “Florida” – A spoken word piece accompanied by someone running their finger around the rim of a glass. It’s not the best moment on the album.

7. “Kansas” – Young goes back to songs about relationships but this time, it’s about rebounding with a woman whose name he doesn’t even know. He played it first during his solo tour in 1999 and also a couple of times between 2007 and 2008.

8. “We Don’t Smoke It No More” – It’s on the bluesy side which would’ve made it a perfect addition to his sixth studio album, “Tonight’s the Night.” It hasn’t been released before and he’s never played it live too.

9. “White Line” – A bittersweet number which he recorded with the Band’s Robbie Robertson. He played it with Crazy Horse in 1975 but only recorded it with the band 15 years later for his 18th studio album “Ragged Glory.”

10. “Vacancy” – Another song which didn’t find a home in any of his other albums, there’s so much anger and resentment here.

11. “Little Wing” – It served as the opener to his 10th studio album, “Hawks & Doves.” He recently played it in one of the episodes of his “Fireside Sessions”.

12. “Star of Bethlehem” – It appeared on his 8th studio album, “American Stars ‘n Bars.” It wraps up the album perfectly.

Don’t Miss Out! Sign up for the Latest Updates

Premium Partners

Society of Rock partner World War Wings
Society of Rock partner Daily Rock Box
Society of Rock partner Country Music Nation
Society of Rock partner Country Rebel
Society of Rock partner I Love Classic Rock
Society of Rock partner Rock Pasta

Interested in becoming a partner?

Contact us for more info.