The Doors Finally Release Original Demo Of ‘Riders On The Storm’

The Doors Finally Release Original Demo Of ‘Riders On The Storm’ | Society Of Rock Videos

UNSPECIFIED - JANUARY 01: Photo of Jim MORRISON and DOORS posed in Germany in 1968. Left to right: Jim Morrison (1943-1971), Ray Manzarek (1939-2013), Robbie Krieger and John Densmore. (Photo by K & K Ulf Kruger OHG/Redferns)

Check It Out

The Doors have dropped a long forgotten demo of “Riders on the Storm.” This raw-sounding version was recorded with producer Paul A. Rothchild. It will be featured in the upcoming new deluxe reissue of the band’s final studio album with frontman Jim Morrison, L.A. Woman, for its 50th anniversary. Arriving on December 3 via Rhino, the L.A. Woman (50th Anniversary Deluxe Edition) includes 18 previously unreleased recordings.

The early demo of “Riders on the Storm” was recorded at Sunset Sound studios. Rothchild famously described it as “cocktail music.”

“When he heard it, it was in an early rehearsal and it hadn’t evolved into what it became,” John Densmore recalled. “But it really is one of our most important songs.”

“We came upon that and went, ‘Oh, my God,’” engineer and mixer Bruce Botnick said. “And the funny thing is, when it got transferred, it got transferred backwards. So I had to flip it electronically, and when I heard it, I went, ‘Holy tamales, look what we’ve got.’ We had no idea there was even any aural record of the sessions.”

L.A. Woman: 50th Anniversary Deluxe Edition Tracklisting

Disc One: Original Stereo Mix Remastered

1. “The Changeling”
2. “Love Her Madly”
3. “Been Down So Long”
4. “Cars Hiss By My Window”
5. “L.A. Woman”
6. “L’America”
7. “Hyacinth House”
8. “Crawling King Snake”
9. “The WASP (Texas Radio And The Big Beat)”
10. “Riders On The Storm”
Bonus Tracks
11. “Hyacinth House” – Demo
12. “Riders On The Storm” – Sunset Sound Version – Original Demo*

Disc Two: L.A. Woman Sessions, Part 1

1. “The Changeling” *
2. “Love Her Madly” *
3. “Riders On The Storm” *
4. “L.A. Woman” (Part 1) *

Disc Three: L.A. Woman Sessions, Part 2

1. “L.A. Woman” (Part 2) *
2. “She Smells So Nice” *
3. “Rock Me Baby” *
4. “Mr. Mojo Risin’” *
5. “Baby Please Don’t Go” *
6. “L.A. Woman” (Part 3) *
7. “Been Down So Long” *
8. “Get Out Of My Life Woman” *
9. “Crawling King Snake” *
10. “The Bastard Son Of Jimmy & Mama Reed (Cars Hiss By My Window)” *
11. “Been Down So Long” *
12. “Mystery Train” *
13. “The WASP (Texas Radio And The Big Beat)” *

* previously unreleased

Don’t Miss Out! Sign up for the Latest Updates

Premium Partners

Society of Rock partner World War Wings
Society of Rock partner Daily Rock Box
Society of Rock partner Country Music Nation
Society of Rock partner Country Rebel
Society of Rock partner I Love Classic Rock
Society of Rock partner Rock Pasta

Interested in becoming a partner?

Contact us for more info.