Rush To Release Box Set For 40th Anniversary Of “Permanent Waves”

Rush To Release Box Set For 40th Anniversary Of “Permanent Waves” | Society Of Rock Videos

via Rush/YouTube

You Can Preorder Today

For the 40th anniversary of their breakthrough album “Permanent Waves” released on January 14, 1980, RUSH will release a box set this March 27 via Universal. The Super Deluxe edition will feature 2-CDs and 3-LPs plus a 40-page hardcover book with a 1,200 word essay, unseen photos from their archive, tour programs, poster, handwritten lyrics by Neil Peart, and reimagined album artwork by original LP designer Hugh Syme.

Aside from the “Abbey Road Mastering Studios 2015” remastered tracks, the collection also has previously unreleased live cuts from their 1980 “Permanent Waves Tour” stops in Manchester, London, and St. Louis, Missouri. The tracks are mixed by longtime producer Terry Brown.

Ahead of its release, Rush shared a live version of “The Spirit of the Radio” which you can listen to below.

Permanent Waves 40th Anniversary Tracklist:

Disc 1:

01. The Spirit of Radio
02. Freewill
03. Jacob’s Ladder
04. Entre Nous
05. Different Strings
06. Natural Science

Disc 2:

01. Beneath, Between & Behind (Live in Manchester)
02. By-Tor & The Snow Dog (Live in London)
03. Xanadu (Live in London)
04. The Spirit Of Radio (Live in Manchester)
05. Natural Science (Live in Manchester)
06. The Trees (Live in Manchester)
07. Cygnus X-1 (Live in London)
08. Cygnus X-1 Book II (Live in London)
09. Closer to the Heart (Live in Manchester)
10. Jacob’s Ladder (Live in Missouri)
11. Freewill (Live in London)

Don’t Miss Out! Sign up for the Latest Updates

Premium Partners

Society of Rock partner World War Wings
Society of Rock partner Daily Rock Box
Society of Rock partner Country Music Nation
Society of Rock partner Country Rebel
Society of Rock partner I Love Classic Rock
Society of Rock partner Rock Pasta

Interested in becoming a partner?

Contact us for more info.